Trucks – Zoom, Gloom and Doom

O.K. you should be use to the occasional loose post from me.

This one isn’t exactly about trucks, but they have a part to play.

We have just returned from a weekend ‘sort of ‘on the Rhine – from Neuwied to Cologne.

We had three days of typically ordinary weather as we have come to expect here in Europe as is witnessed by this Photo of Olive as we cycled into some beautiful little village which on a real summers day would have merited a stop for a drink, some nice pics and a wander about.

Great weather uh Dad!!

As it was we cowered in someones doorway, and tried to see the bright side.

We made it another 2kms before our next unscheduled stop, and so it went.

I had hastily researched the Rhine and thought we were on one of the better sections, but have since found we should have down between Mainz and Koblenz, never mind the weather wasn’t up to it anyway.

Overall it was interesting, but only reinforced to me how lucky we are that the population, industry and motorways haven’t overrun what we have in New Zealand. Our ride was interspersed with beautiful, ugly, tragic, historic, whacky, and ho-hum, and I really only thought Danniverke could offer so much variety!

The girls endured it with great spirit, and we enjoyed good German hospitality and friendliness throughout.

Whilst riding we passed one town with a Trodel Markt – sort of antique and used goods fair, which at the time was unappealing because of the weather, but which we returned to the following day in lighter showery weather. And here come the trucks…

There was all manner of stuff you would seldom if ever see in New Zealand, from Kaiser like Helmets, to stuffed animals, amazing lightshades and Barbie Dolls – Chrissy’s blog will cover it way better. Of course the girls wanted one of most things, so ever the bargain spotter at 50c a piece when Edie took an interest i responded  – they were part of a stall representing a half a life times’ collection of trucks and cars and motorbikes. I couldn’t bear to take a photo of the collection, the poor guys heart must have been broken. I’m sure I only added to it by having Olive hand over 1 euro for two trucks – one for her and one for Edie.

Girls don't like boys, they just like money and trucks! (A bad wordplay on a song)

It would have been too hard to explain that they would love them too (ultimately) pieces.

For those interested – one is a DAF and the other one, well another truck.

Anyway it had me thinking about collecting for life, giving things up, moving on, and wondering how many really do move on – can we really break the habit? I’ve always loved lots of things. The closest I have come to having a collection is ‘bikes’. But I use them and abuse them. I admire those who can just revere something, I think I am just too much of a pragmatist – or maybe I only see real art in art, but then a Truck is art in some ways, and certainly I regard a bicycle as one of the great pieces of mechanical art.

Anyhow, it seemed apt to reflect on this in a country where people are particular, and do appreciate and admire excellence in all sorts of things (we passed the Michael Schumacher kart center by the way). I appreciated it.

This was my first time to Germany, I’ll be back, I felt welcome.

I can’t help but leave and think of all the lives lost in the madness of war. I could only see peace and tradition and respect in all the little villages. Just like anywhere else you might go.

I felt as though I should tread very lightly, in respect of everyone, for everything ‘they/we all’ should never had to lose.

Right.

Now I have those trucks in perspective.

I can never have the war in prespective.

As a sort of proof of my ignorance, we also rode past this bridge end the Ludendorff Bridge – one of the more famous bridges (it was destroyed days later after the dramatic events of the film). I saw the movie quite by chance on the MGM movies in Cologne one night later.  We rode right past the tunnel entrance and could have gone in that night to watch the movie as a special ‘summer’ thing!!

I feel so naive  at times.

Thank you to all who lost your lives, limbs and loved ones.

I understand a whole lot better now.

Everyone fighting for the same thing.

2 thoughts on “Trucks – Zoom, Gloom and Doom

  1. Just another bit of history for you Richard your father-in-law did his National Service in Germany stationed at Bunde. Typical him though he hooked up with a group of German guys who had a band that went by the name of the Tobacco Town Seranaders their music loosely jazz..-, and it was a great contrast to his Army life. John also happened to be in Germany at the time Elvis was stationed there!! and my Dad was in Germany during WWII. Your nephews would have absolutely loved the truck display. With all the travelling you are doing you could start your own collection of postcards perhaps (said with tongue in cheek). Love the info. N ancy

    • Hi Nancy, now that is a pretty strong series of connections. I’m pretty sure Elvis has left now, but we did see some big photos of him and it is a popular look here inn Belgium! Yes I did ink of Tom and James and Willy and Matthew when I saw the trucks, probably shoul have bought the whole display! bye for now. Richard

Comments are closed.